
Volleyball Habits of Mind 

Back-Row Awareness  

Back-row players have limitations on where and how they can play a ball. Rule 9-5 Articles 3, 4, 
5, and 6 specifically define these limitations and every official must have a complete 
understanding of this rule in order to correctly officiate back-row play. On every play three 
players will be back row players. During play, complete awareness of who those three back-row 
players are and where exactly they contacted a ball is imperative. Every time prior to signaling 
for the serve, make a mental note of who the back-row players are; this action gives the official 
the best chance of penalizing illegal back-row play immediately, but remember, illegal back-row 
play can be penalized at any time during a rally. Obviously, it is best to call an illegal back row 
play sooner rather than later, but do not hesitate to call this after the fact when discovered prior 
to awarding a point. If you are unsure of a player’s back row status during play, take note of 
where the player positions herself after the contact. Most of the time a player will transition to a 
defensive base and that will inform you as to whether she was in the front or back row.  

A fundamental understanding, to help inform illegal back-row play, is identifying what offense 
each team is running. This is important because it helps identify the back-row/front-row status of 
the setter. The backrow setter is the player most likely to commit a backrow violation because 
her primary position on the court is located in front of the attack line. Many times, if the setter 
has any height at all and/or jump sets the ball, the setter contacts the ball completely above the 
height of the net and in front of the attack line. If a ball set completely above the height of the 
net crosses the plane of the net and is legally blocked or completely crosses the net, it is a 
back-row attack violation. When the ball is overpassed from a teammate, a back row setter is 
put into a very precarious situation. If the setter reaches and contacts the ball after it has 
completely broken the plane, she has committed an illegal back-row attack. If she touches a ball 
that has partially broken the plane of the net, and the ball is legally blocked after the touching, 
she has committed an illegal back-row attack. If the setter misses the ball with any part of her 
hand completely above the height of the net and the ball is blocked back into her hand, she has 
committed a back-row block.  

In a 5-1 offense, the setter spends three rotations in the back row and three rotations in the front 
row. In order to effectively monitor back-row play, the officials must pay close attention to when 
the setter is in the back row and when she moves to the front row. Many times a new back row 
player enters the set when the setter transitions to the front row. This is good to note, because 
whenever an official sees that player on the court, the official knows the setter is a front row 
player. The opposite is also true; many times a front row player will be on the court only when 
the setter is in the back row. 

In a 5-1 hybrid, one setter is a back-row setter and another setter replaces her and becomes a 
front-row setter. Keeping track of the setter in this scenario can be easier because usually the 
two players who are setting are only on the court when they are in the setter position. It is 
always helpful to note who the player in the back-row is who is opposite the front-row player in 
the rotation and vice versa.  

In a 6-2 offense, the primary setter is always a back-row player. This can make it easier to 
identify illegal back-row play, but keep in mind, setter number one may stay in the game and 
transition to a front row attacker. Make sure to carefully note who the primary setter is to help 
ensure proper calls are made.  



In a 2-4 offense, the setter is always a front-row player. This offense is rare, but a few teams still 
employ it. This certainly simplifies calling illegal back-row play concerning the setter, but a setter 
still might transition to the back row and become a secondary setter. Keep in mind the player 
opposite her in the rotation when she transitions to the back row to help identify her position on 
the court.  

Another scenario for an illegal back-row attack occurs when the ball is set to a back-row player. 
The official must pay attention to where the back-row player is positioned prior to leaving the 
ground if the back-row player contacts the ball completely above the height of the net. The most 
common error is for the foot to make contact with the attack line prior to contacting a ball that is 
completely above the height of the net. Remember, the entire attack line belongs to the attack 
zone. If a back-row attacker contacts a ball completely above the height of the net and has any 
part of her foot/feet in contact with the attack line, or has any part of the foot touching the attack 
line before jumping off the floor, it is an illegal back-row attack. Many times it is quite obvious 
whether or not it is a back row player attacking the ball, but especially be aware in scramble 
situations and/or cover situations when the back row players may be in front of the attack line. In 
scramble or cover situations, it is also very important to be aware of the libero’s position and 
actions. If the libero uses finger action when retrieving a ball on or in front of the attack line and 
the next action is an attack of the ball completely above the height of the net, it is an illegal 
back-row attack.  

Libero Play 

Any time the libero plays the ball, officials must be aware of her position on the floor. Review 
rule 9.5.6 to fully understand what the libero may and may not do. The libero may not attack a 
ball that is completely above the height of the net from anywhere on the court. There is no “safe 
zone” for the libero when it comes to attacking a ball completely above the height of the net. The 
libero also may not use finger action to set the ball while positioned on or in front of the attack 
line, if the next contact is an attack of a ball that is completely above the height of the net. Bump 
sets made by the libero positioned on or in front of the attack can be legally attacked, even if the 
ball is completely above the height of the net. Always be hypersensitive to any contact by the 
libero. Every time the libero contacts the ball, the official must be aware of the libero’s position 
on the court and whether the libero contacted the ball with finger action or with a bump set. Any 
time a coach questions the legality of a back-row attack, use the informal Legal Back-row Attack 
signal to indicate either behind the line or below the height net. 

Proper Alignment Awareness  

There needs to be a fundamental understanding of pairs or opposites in a lineup. Position I is 
paired/opposite position IV, Position II is paired/opposite position V, Position III is 
paired/opposite position VI. This understanding is crucial when assessing alignment penalties.  

Remembering the two players who are paired with the libero and the player(s) paired with the 
setter is one method to consider. If two pairs are in the correct position then all three pairs will 
be correct. This method usually results in remembering two to three numbered pairs for each 
team per match. For example, a team who plays a 5-1 and does not substitute will require 
remembering four numbers; the setter and the player paired/opposite her and the two players 
opposite the libero. (Remembering the libero’s number is not necessary because she has a 
different jersey design from her teammates.) If the team substitutes for the setter’s pair when 
she moves to the front row, it will require remembering five numbers. A team running a 6-2 or 2-



4 offense will require remembering six numbers; however, keep in mind the two pairs for the 
setter and her opposite usually remain the same throughout the match. 

Knowing the pairs/opposites is also very helpful for quickly diagnosing illegal back row play. In a 
5-1 offense, when a team substitutes a back row player for the player opposite the setter, the 
official knows the setter is now a front row player. If a team substitutes a front row player for the 
player opposite the setter, the official knows the setter is now a back row player. If at any time 
during play the official becomes confused as to the setter's front or back row status, a quick 
check of her opposite will inform the official of her position.  

Another focus must be on who the player is ahead and behind the setter in the lineup. This is 
especially important when the setter moves to the back left on serve receive. The front row 
player ahead of the setter must be positioned in front of the setter. If a setter when positioned 
back left is standing alone, alarm bells need to go off in the official’s mind. The front left must be 
positioned in front of the setter somewhere on the left side of the court. When the setter is in the 
back left, she may try to cheat toward her setting position and overlap the middle back. Knowing 
the player who is behind the setter in the rotation helps diagnose this error. 

When the setter is in the middle back position, knowing who is ahead and behind the setter in 
the rotation, including whether or not the setter is leading or following the libero, is helpful in 
identifying rotation errors. Many times, if there is going to be an alignment issue, it will occur 
when the setter is middle back. Generally speaking, teams will either drop back their front right 
player or front left player during this serve receive rotation. This gives multiple opportunities for 
overlaps. Overlaps may occur with the front left and back left, the front right and the back right, 
and most commonly in this serve receive rotation the middle back with either the left back or the 
right back. Be careful if/when teams start changing sides of the court again because many times 
this rotation will be correct on one side of the court and incorrect on the other side. Knowing the 
pairs/opposites and the player in front of and behind the setter will give an official confidence 
and command of making the correct illegal alignment call. 

 Working with Scorekeepers and Clock/Scoreboard Operator 

Every match must begin with the R2 conducting a pre-game discussion with the scorekeeper, 
libero tracker, and clock/scoreboard operator. The scorekeeper, libero tracker, and scoreboard 
operator are the R2’s most important ally in keeping a match running smoothly. They must be a 
united team paying attention to every point scored as a bench team. If the scoreboard operator 
and scorekeeper have a discrepancy in score, the discrepancy must be resolved immediately. 
Waiting to correct it a few points later can be difficult, laborious, and time consuming. The table 
team must be in constant communication with each other and with the R2. The best 
scorekeepers will call out the subs as they approach and let the R2 know how many subs each 
team has used after each substitution. This would be a great habit to instill in every 
scorekeeper.  

The R2 must instruct the scorekeeper to immediately communicate if an illegal substitute 
attempts to enter the set. This helps the R2 penalize with an unnecessary delay warning instead 
of having to potentially remove points from the board, correct the rotation, and/or put the correct 
player back into the set after the fact; this can be very messy and time consuming. The R2 must 
also instruct the scorekeeper to inform him/her when a team has used 15, 16, 17, and 18 
substitutes so the R2 can inform the team’s head coach. The scorekeeper should also 
communicate set point to the R2 so the R2 can signal the R1. 



The R2 must instruct the libero tracker to immediately communicate an incorrect libero 
replacement. The R2 could also ask the libero tracker to help with identifying libero and 
replacements replacing outside the replacement zone. This can be difficult for the R2 to observe 
effectively and will help the R2 utilize preventative officiating to correct this error by 
communicating the issue to the head coach prior to penalizing. If the replacement error 
continues, the R2 should issue an unnecessary delay.  

The R2 must instruct the scoreboard/clock operator concerning clock operation for starting and 
ending time-outs. The R2 should develop a signal that informs the clock operator when to begin 
the 60 second countdown. It could be when the arms drop after giving the preliminary time-outs 
taken signal to the R1, or after the arm comes down to indicate the team who called the timeout, 
or when the time-out signal is given. Whatever the signal is, it will help the clock operator be 
consistent starting the countdown clock for every time-out. The clock operator needs to 
understand, when play is on a single court, the R2 will always give the warning double whistle 
when both teams are back on the court ready to play or when 15 seconds remain in the time-
out. The clock operator needs to wait for the R2’s signal prior to sounding the horn. Make sure 
the horn is never sounded prior to the R2 signaling the clock operator to do so. When multiple 
courts are involved, the clock operator needs to understand the scoreboard horn will never be 
used. The clock operator also needs to be instructed to keep the clock running until it reaches 
zero or the R2 gives the signal to sound the horn. The clock operator should never stop the 
clock prior to it reaching zero or being instructed to sound the ready to play horn. 

 


