Board Members & IGHSAU Representation

Representation of the IGHSAU consists of an eight-person Board of Directors. Six positions are elected to the IGHSAU Board while two appointees representing the Iowa Association of School Boards and the Iowa Department of Education also serve. The Board of Directors approve policy changes proposed by the IGHSAU administrative staff.

The IGHSAU Representative Council serves in an advisory capacity. The council consists of three electees from each of the four districts in Iowa. The Representative Council meets twice a year.

Each IGHSAU sport has an advisory committee made up of coaches, an official and an athletic director. These committees meet once a year to review their respective sports and develop recommendations for the IGHSAU administrative team to take to the IGHSAU Board of Directors.

  • Greg Dufoe

    Greg Dufoe


    ADM - 2018-2022

  • Travis Fleshner

    Travis Fleshner


    Union - 2023

  • Jim Boehmer

    Jim Boehmer

    Lake Mills - 2015-2023

  • Russ Adams

    Russ Adams

    MOC-Floyd Valley - 2020-24

  • Jennifer Donels

    Jennifer Donels

    Davis County - 2021-25

  • D'Anne Kroemer

    D'Anne Kroemer

    Pleasant Valley - 2012-2023

  • Ron Fadness

    Ron Fadness

    Iowa Assoc. of School Boards Representative


  • Shan Seivert

    Shan Seivert

    Iowa Dept. of Education Representative

    Des Moines

IGHSAU Board Minutes/Advisory Minutes

IGHSAU Representative Council

Southeast District

  • Davis Eidahl, Solon (2024)
  • Marty Jimmerson, West Branch (2024)
  • Chad Wahls, New London (2024)

Northeast District

  • Erin Thompson, Anamosa (2023)
  • Dan Fox, East Buchanan (2024)
  • Tim Dugger, Postville (2024)

Southwest District

  • Chris Fenster, Southwest Valley (2023)
  • Devin Embray, Glenwood (2024)
  • Trevor Miller, Exira/Elk Horn-Kimballton & IKM-Manning (2022)

Northwest District

  • Ken Slater, Hinton (2023)
  • Jon Wiebers, Ridge View (2024)
  • Tara Paul, Estherville-Lincoln Central (2022)

IGHSAU Sport Advisory Committees

Each IGHSAU sport has a committee consisting of coaches that review rule changes and provide feedback and recommendations to the IGHSAU staff. An activity director chairs each committee and an official also serves. 


  • Chair: Melissa Crosse, Johnston
  • Tracy Dailey, Southeast Polk
  • Bruce Dall, Dike-New Hartford
  • Derek Sonderland, Logan-Magnolia
  • Gregg Groen, Cedar Falls
  • Janel Burgess, Montezuma
  • Jamie Smith, Solon
  • Kylee Boettcher, Panorama
  • Official: Jason Alons, Waukee

Joint Bowling

  • Chair: Lyle Fedders, Des Moines East
  • Mike Mellecker, Iowa City West
  • Matt Schneider, Waverly-Shell Rock
  • Xan Taylor, Johnston
  • Official: Randy Thompson, Johnston

Joint Cross Country

  • Chair: Nate Boock, Ballard
  • Katie Tesch,  Ridge View
  • Kelly Kersten, Logan-Magnolia
  • Travis Nuss, Southeast Valley
  • Ben Robison, Clear Creek-Amana
  • Abby Schmitz, Waukee
  • Cristy Nimrod, Decorah
  • Official: Bill Neal, Iowa City


  • Chair: Alex Hanna, Edgewood-Colesburg
  • Cody Harskamp, Unity Christian
  • Julie Kadlec, Cedar Rapids Xavier
  • Matt Kovacevich, Centerville
  • Kelli Moore, West Des Moines Valley
  • Lucas Johnson, Marshalltown
  • Janice Shanno, Sidney
  • Official: Chad Pitts, Iowa Golf Association


  • Chair: Brent Buttjer, Dallas Center-Grimes
  • Dion Ayers, North Scott
  • Kim Croston, Sergeant Bluff-Luton
  • John Hansel, Spencer
  • Mike Krawczyk, WCV-NV
  • Dave Rosenthal, Iowa City West
  • Official: Kelly Dunbar, Cedar Falls


  • Chair: Tonya Moe, Linn-Mar
  • Amber Doyle, Roland-Story
  • Heather Fortune, Wayne
  • Maddison LeClere, Cedar Rapids Kennedy
  • Tia Stiles, Southeast Polk
  • Erica White, Boone
  • Official: Mike Crozier, Northwood

Swimming & Diving

  • Chair: Jayson Campbell, Southeast Polk
  • Ashley Beaumont, Fort Dodge
  • Tony Kramer, Linn-Mar
  • Mike Ahrens, Bettendorf
  • Michelle Stout, Ankeny
  • Darin Robertson, Johnston
  • Official: Shawn Thomsen, Cedar Rapids


  • Chair: Al Lammers, Norwalk
  • Cindy Rasche, Clinton
  • Chad Jilek, Waukee
  • Heidi Grunwald, Fairfield
  • Danielle Stubbs, Pella Christian
  • Official: Shawn Petersen, Atlantic

Joint Track & Field

  • Chair: Jeff Bissen, Glenwood
  • Kim Arndt, Indianola
  • Brad Travis, Spirit Lake
  • Jon Pedersen, Central Decatur
  • Scot Lamm, Mount Pleasant
  • Greg Williams, Monticello
  • Blaire Puls, Hudson
  • Kenny Wheeler, Pleasant Valley
  • Official: Mark Tigges, Waukee


  • Chair: Todd Troutman, Beckman Catholic
  • Jessica Rinehart, Ankeny Centennial
  • Julie Oldenkamp, Sioux Center
  • Amy McClintock, Sidney
  • Katrina Terhark, Clarion-Goldfield-Dows
  • Mollie Keitges, Knoxville
  • Mike Bond, Lewis Central
  • Matt Johnson, Cedar Falls
  • Official: Sarah Thein, Ventura

IGHSAU Student Athlete Advisory Committees

The IGHSAU Student Athlete Advisory Committee is comprised of female student-athletes from each of the state's four districts (NE, SE, NW, SW) along with three at-large representatives. Eleven girls were selected to two-year terms to meet about issues related to girls high school activities in Iowa. Committee members act as a voice for Iowa's female student-athletes and serve as a sounding board for the IGHSAU's Representative Council and the Board of Directors

2021-22 Student-Athlete Advisory Committee

  • Kira Canada, Des Moines Lincoln
  • Grace Coble, WACO
  • Emma Davidson, Northwood-Kensett
  • Jaide Domatob, Waterloo West
  • Chloe Fetcho, Davis County
  • Abigail Hughes, Glenwood
  • Shanna Kleve, Independence
  • Ella Lampe, Dallas Center-Grimes
  • Kylie Meyer, Sumner-Fredericksburg
  • Alexis Narmi, Council Bluffs St. Albert
  • Jada Newberg, Sioux City Bishop Heelan
  • Sophia Polking, Carroll
  • Leah Ries, Maquoketa Valley
  • Madeline Schultz, Woodbury Central