• State Champions are crowned at the 2019 State Bowling Tournament.
  • Waukee (3A), Fort Dodge (2A) and Louisa-Muscatine (1A) are the team champions. For Waukee and Fort Dodge, the state team championships were the first in team history while Louisa-Muscatine won its third-straight 1A title and the fourth in school history.
  • Individual bowling champions were also crowned as Louisa-Muscatine’s Whitney Morse (1A), Leah Sanck of Fort Dodge (2A) and Cedar Rapids Jefferson’s Kaylee Donner (3A). Morse successfully defended her Class 1A crown and became just the second bowler to win back-to-back individual state titles.


  • The Iowa Girls State Basketball Tournament, the oldest girls high school state championship in the United States, celebrated its 100th birthday in 2019.
  • Newell-Fonda won the Class 1A state championship for the second time in school history with a 76-52 victory over West Hancock.
  • Treynor captured the Class 2A state title with a 48-30 victory over Grundy Center. The state crown was the second in school history for the Cardinals.
  • Center Point-Urbana defeated North Polk, 54-35, to win its second state championship.
  • North Scott held off Marion, 50-49, to win the Class 4A state title for the second time in three seasons.
  • West Des Moines Valley defeated Southeast Polk, 65-60, to win its second Class 5A state championship in three seasons.
  • Eavon Almquist (Pocahontas, 1968), Jenny Noll (Muscatine, 1992) and Chelsea Poppens (Aplington-Parkersburg, 2009) were the 2019 inductees into the IGHSAU Basketball Hall of Fame.


  • Alburnett and Kee (1A), Mid-Prairie (2A), Glenwood (3A), and Waukee (4A) were crowned state team champions at the 2019 State Co-Ed Track & Field Meet at Drake Stadium May 16-18.
  • Western Christian set a 2A record in the 4x800 meter relay, clocking a 9:24.76 to top the old record of 9:25.23 set in 2016 by Monticello.
  • Wahlert Catholic’s Aliyah Carter set a new 3A record in the long jump. Her leap of 18-8 1/2 broke the old mark of 18-2 ¾, set by Norwalk’s Jennie Clark in 2007.
  • Cedar Falls set a new 4A record in the distance medley. The Tiger time of 4:00.19 broke the Sioux City East mark of 4:00.39 set in 2009.
  • Glenwood’s Janette Schraft and Sheldon’s Keri Siebrecht both won gold medals in four events at the state track & field meet. Schraft captured the Class 3A 800, 1500, 3000 and 400 hurdles while Siebrecht won the wheelchair, 100, 400, 800 and shot put. Siebrecht tied the state record for career state track & field titles with 15.
  • Colette Gnade (Waukee, 2009), Jen Runchey (Atlantic, 1995), Traci Ferren (Southeast Polk, 1986) and Lindsey Boldt (Mount Pleasant, 2006) were inducted into the IGHSAU Track & Field Hall of Fame
  • Bishop Garrigan (1A), New Hampton (2A), Dubuque Wahlert (3A) and West Des Moines Valley (4A) captured team titles at the 2019 State Golf Meet May 28-29.
  • West Des Moines Valley’s Paige Hoffman (4A), Britta Snyder of Gilbert (3A), Morgan Weber of Dike-New Hartford and Alta-Aurelia’s Annika Patton (1A) won the 2019 state individual golf championships. Weber and Snyder successfully defending their state crowns while Patton won her second individual championship in three seasons.


  • Cedar Rapids Xavier (1A) and Ames (2A) were crowned state team champions at the 2019 State Tennis Tournament. Xavier won its first-ever state tennis team title while Ames captured its fifth state crown.
  • Xavier’s Emily Jasper and Miyako Coffey teamed up to win the Class 1A doubles crown. Fairfield’s Yana Gaskell was the Class 1A singles champion.
  • Johnston’s Cari Naanep was the Class 2A state tennis singles champion. The 2A doubles crown was won by Dowling Catholic’s Kaylyn Chleborad and Allison Szalay.


  • Davenport Assumption won its fourth-straight Class 1A State Soccer title and the 10th in school history with a 1-0 victory over North Polk.
  • Cedar Rapids Xavier edged Waverly-Shell Rock, 2-1, in overtime to win the Class 2A state soccer crown. The state title was the 10th in school history for the Saints.
  • Ankeny edged Waukee, 1-0, to win the Class 3A state championship. This marked the third state championship in school history for the Hawkettes.


  • Collins-Maxwell (1A), North Linn (2A), Davenport Assumption (3A), Carlisle (4A) and West Des Moines Valley (5A) were crowned state champions at the 2019 State Softball Championships in Fort Dodge.
  • Susan Kies (Newell-Fonda, 2010), Alex Jacobson (Cedar Rapids Jefferson, 2010), Kelsey Rethmeier (Winterset, 2005) and Miranda Kramer (Burlington, 2011) were 2019 inductees into the IGHSAU Softball Hall of Fame.


  • Logan Magnolia (1A), Mid-Prairie (2A), Ballard (3A) and Johnston (4A) were crowned team champions at the State Cross Country Meet in Fort Dodge November 2.
  • Camille Jackson,  Ames (4A), Adrianna Katcher, Center Point-Urbana (3A), Marie Hostetler, Mid-Prairie and Peyton Pogge, Tri-Center (1A) won individual state titles at the Cross Country meet. Jackson smashed the course record, finishing in 17:23.9 to break Marie Hostetler’s old mark of 17:51.2 set in 2017.
  • Dowling Catholic captured the school’s first ever state championship in swimming and diving at the 2019 State Swimming and Diving Meet in Marshalltown November 8-9.
  • Three state records were set at the two-day meet. Dowling Catholic’s Katie Broderick set a new mark in the 100 backstroke, swimming 55.57 in the Friday preliminary meet. Ankeny’s Jasmine Rumley set a new state mark in the 100 freestyle, finishing in 49.03. Iowa City West’s Scarlet Martin set a new state mark in the 100 butterfly with a 53.41 finish.
  • Sidney (1A), Western Christian (2A), Mount Vernon (3A), Sergeant Bluff-Luton (4A), and Cedar Falls (5A) were state champions at the 2019 State Volleyball Tournament in Cedar Rapids. Sidney and Sergeant Bluff-Luton were first-time state champions while Cedar Falls won its second title. Mount Vernon captured its fourth state title while perennial power Western Christian collected its 18th state crown. Western Christian head coach Tammi Veerbeek won her 12th state championship, passing Dubuque Wahlert’s Tom Keating as Iowa volleyball’s career leader.
  • Lea Hartigan (Treynor, 2007), Annie Stoessel (Sumner, 1996) and Carli Tritz (Sioux City Bishop Heelan, 2010) were the 2019 inductees into the IGHSAU Volleyball Hall of Fame.